Short Story Review: “The Memory Lights”, by K.M. Weiland

Standard

The Memory Lights coverSo I’ve finally found something to write about on this blog. As an aspiring author, I love stories, not just writing them, but reading them as well, so I figured I might as well review those I really like here and not just on amazon.

In anticipation of K.M. Weiland’s upcoming novel, “Storming”, I decided to read and review one of her short stories.

In “The Memory Lights”, we meet a young girl, Mary, plagued by amnesia and also a strange case of being afraid of lights (photophobia?), specifically street lights. She even goes as far as picking up rocks to throw at them.

Mary, we discover is a fingersmith (i.e. a pickpocket) who works for a man named Colin. When Colin accepts a job to break someone out of jail, tagging Mary along, she learns things about her forgotten past and about herself…

Now before I get carried away and spoil the story, let me review it.

K.M. Weiland masterfully uses 9000 words to tell a very interesting story. The setting is in Victorian London and I couldn’t help but notice the author drew at least some inspiration from Charles Dickens’ stories. (I haven’t really read Dickens myself, but just watch a film adaptation of Oliver Twist and you’ll know what I’m talking about.) The pacing, however is anything but Dickensian. It’s fast paced and it works well to create serious suspense.

Overall Miss Weiland tells an interesting, if somewhat eerie story with quite a twist at the end (not Oliver, but the plot kind). It’s always a pleasure to read the work of an accomplished and skillful writer. This is definitely a story I’ll recommend if you’re looking for a quick narrative fix.

(Click here for the amazon review and here to buy it on amazon kindle.)

One thought on “Short Story Review: “The Memory Lights”, by K.M. Weiland

Leave a Reply

